TEAM

PHAZZ-A-DELIC

 
 

PIT BAUMGARTNER

Music producer and sound painter (De-Phazz, Uke Dub Society);
re-mixer (AHA, Bert Kaempfert, Kool & The Gang, Kurtis Blow, Boy George and many more);
Children’s songs & radio play author (cassettes with the mouse, “Q”/WDR, ZDF and many more)
Phazz-a-delic label founder and after his radio wave infection in the 60s (Beat) always looking for the respective “soundtrack for life”.
Foto: Claus Geiss

HALUK SOYOGLU

CEO or rather „Head of Phazz-a-delic“, inventor of De-Phazz, from 1986 to 1996 resident DJ in several Clubs with surprising Dj-Sets by a mix of Electronica, contemporary Jazz and Adult Pop. Any formats, no conventions, no dogma except „music as music can“!
1996 founding “Mole Listening Pearls”, managing the music label till 1999, inventing several compilation-series and initiating De-Phazz; in 2001 he finally founded “Phazz-a-delic New Format Recordings” with his business partner Pit Baumgartner (Mastermind of De-Phazz). Togetherness, versatility and lateral thinking are essential aspects of his label management and his way of thinking and living…

Dirk Mahlstedt

After 25 years of activity in various areas of the music industry, Dirk Mahlstedt founded his own label “KÜNSTLERHAFEN” in 2016 with an affiliated management and consulting agency. In the years as head of the “Edel:Kultur” division of the Hamburg media group Edel AG, Pit Baumgartner and Haluk Soyoglu got to know each other all too long ago, when, among others, the labels “Phazzadelic” and “New Format Recordings” were looking for a sales-oriented home.
This in turn resulted from the previous, equally long-standing collaboration with Pit Baumgartner as mastermind of his band “De-Phazz”. As is well known, the paths always cross at least twice in a lifetime, when Dirk Mahlstedt now changed the side of the desk and became a direct part of the inner “Phazzadelic” DNA – always according to the motto of the ZDF anchorman Claus Kleber, whom Mahlstedt likes to quote: “We sell news, but we must never become news ourselves”. Foto: Kristin Schleych

Hanns-Christian „Hank” Gerth

Born and grown up with a lot of jazz, beat and soul in the southwest of Germany, he made musical steps towards the stage at an early age. In his Sturm- and Drängler years Hank had 2 drum teachers, a vibraphone teacher and a piano teacher. Was MC, Dj and drummer in a HipHop combo, played Big Band Jazz and had several projects in Funk and JazzPop bands. After school he moved to Hamburg where he studied systematic musicology. Besides he played drums with Nneka in her early years. When an internship brought him to Warner Music Germany he slipped “in the filthy side of business”. He received his master’s degree on digitalization in the music industry, using the example of German jazz labels. Already during his studies he promoted with Jürgen “Jogger” Reichert numerous up-and-coming bands and singers such as Tim Bendzko, Jupiter Jones, Philipp Poisel, but also big acts like John Butler, Green Day or Alanis Morissette. Despite the great success he wanted to go back to his musical origins. In Rüdiger Herzog he found a long-time companion whom he had met at Warner Music as head of the jazz department. With Herzog Promotion the PR platform was founded, through which they helped MPS Records, Pirouet Records, NRW Vertrieb and many other labels and artists to gain more publicity. Nevertheless, this was not enough for Hank, he was still missing a part of himself. It was only with HEART BEAT & SOUL that he arrived at what he is today. An all-round support for labels and musicians in the digital age. For several years he has been working closely with jazz, soul and funk bands and labels! Advice for labels and musicians about new digital possibilities, PR measures and new distribution possibilities.
Foto: Moritz Vahlenkamp

Newsletter
Kontakt
Facebook
Youtube

TEAM

PHAZZ-A-DELIC

 
 

PIT BAUMGARTNER

Musikproduzent und Klangmaler (De-Phazz, Uke Dub Society);
Re-Mixer (AHA, Bert Kaempfert, Kool & The Gang, Kurtis Blow, Boy George u.v.a.);
Kinderlieder & Hörspiel Autor (Kassetten mit der Maus, „Q“/WDR, ZDF u.v.m.)
Phazz-a-delic Label Gründer und nach seiner Radiowellen-Infektion in den 60ern (Beat) immer auf der Suche nach dem jeweiligen „Soundtrack fürs Leben“.
Foto: Claus Geiss

HALUK SOYOGLU

Labelchef von Phazz-a-delic, De-Phazz-Macher, zwischen 1986 und 1996 Resident-DJ in diversen Clubs – immer wieder durch einen genre-übergreifenden Sound-Mix aus elektronischer Musik, Indie und Adult Pop überraschend – ohne Konventionen, ohne Formatierungen: music as music can! 1996 Gründung des Musiklabel „Mole Listening Pearls“, bis 1999 geleitet und dabei u.a. De-Phazz entdeckt und initiiert; schliesslich 2001 zusammen mit Produzent Pit Baumgartner das Musiklabel „Phazz-a-delic New Format Recordings“ ins Leben gerufen. Teamplay, Vielseitigkeit und Querdenken sind wesentliche Aspekte seines Label-Managements und Handelns…

Dirk Mahlstedt

Nach inzwischen 25jähriger Tätigkeit in den verschiedensten Bereichen der Musikindustrie gründete Dirk Mahlstedt 2016 das eigene Label „KÜNSTLERHAFEN“ mit angeschlossener Management- und Beratungsagentur. In den Jahren als Leiter der Division „Edel:Kultur“ des Hamburger Medienkonzerns Edel AG lernten sich Pit Baumgartner und Haluk Soyoglu schon vor allzu geraumer Zeit kennen, als unter anderem die Labels „Phazzadelic“ und „New Format Recordings“ ein vertriebliches zu Hause suchten.
Das wiederum ergab sich aus der vorherigen ebenso schon langjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit Pit Baumgartner als Mastermind seiner Band „De-Phazz“. Die Wege kreuzen sich bekanntermaßen immer mindestens zwei Mal im Leben, als dass Dirk Mahlstedt nun die Seite des Schreibtisches wechselte und ein direkter Teil der inneren „Phazzadelic“-DNA wurde – stets nach dem Motto des von Mahlstedt gerne zitierten ZDF-Anchorman Claus Kleber: „Wir verkaufen Nachrichten, dürfen aber nie selbst zur Nachricht werden“. Foto: Kristin Schleych

Hanns-Christian „Hank“ Gerth

Geboren und aufgewachsen mit viel Jazz, Beat und Soul im Südwesten von Deutschland, machte er schon früh musikalische Schritte Richtung Bühne. In seinen Sturm- und Drängler-Jahren hatte Hank 2 Schlagzeuglehrer, eine Vibraphon-Lehrerin und einen Klavierlehrer. War MC, Dj und Drummer in einer HipHop Combo, spielte Big Band Jazz und hatte daneben noch mehrere Projekte in Funk und Jazz Pop Bands. Nach der Schule verschlug es ihn nach Hamburg wo er Systematische Musikwissenschaft studierte. Nebenbei spielte er bei Nneka in ihren Anfangsjahren Schlagzeug. Als ein Praktikum ihn in die Pressearbeit zu Warner Music Germany holte rutschte er „in the filthy Side of Business“. Seinen Magister machte er über die Digitalisierung in der Musikindustrie am Beispiel deutscher Jazzlabels. Schon während seines Studiums promotete er mit Jürgen „Jogger“ Reichert zahlreiche aufstrebende Bands und SängerInnen wie z.B. Tim Bendzko, Jupiter Jones, Philipp Poisel, aber auch große Acts wie John Butler, Green Day oder Alanis Morissette. Trotz der großen Erfolge wollte er wieder zurück zu seinen musikalischen Ursprüngen. Mit Rüdiger Herzog fand er einen langjährigen Wegbegleiter, den er bei Warner Music als Leiter der Jazz-Abteilung kennengelernt hatte. Mit Herzog Promotion war die PR-Plattform gegründet, worüber sie MPS Records, Pirouet Records, den NRW Vertrieb und viele andere Labels und Künstler zu mehr Öffentlichkeit verhalfen. Trotzdem war Hank dies nicht genug, ihm fehlte immer noch ein Teil seiner Selbst. Erst mit HEART BEAT & SOUL war er dort angelangt, was ihn ausmacht. Eine rundum Betreuung für Labels und Musiker in der digitalen Zeit. Seit etlichen Jahren arbeitet er eng mit Jazz, Soul und Funk Bands und Labels eng zusammen! Beratung von Labels und MusilerInnen über neue digitale Möglichkeiten, PR-Maßnahmen und Neue Vertriebsmöglichkeiten. 
Foto: Moritz Vahlenkamp

Newsletter
Kontakt
Facebook
Youtube